​​ ​Resources

​​ Your Resistance Toolbelt
Information obtained from Indivisible Mohawk Valley Facebook page, Notes section

​Organizing Tools
--Indivisible Guide  www.indivisibleguide.com
--How to Make Your Congressman Listen to You https://www.attn.com/stories/12768/former-congressional-staffer-explains-how-to-make-congressman-listen
--Online Faxing – https://faxzero.com/ use this to fax your representatives
--Voterheads – https://www.voterheads.com find out about local city, county, and state meetings and bills
--Countable – https://www.countable.us/ learn about the bills congress is considering, and see how your representatives voted
--The Madison Project - https://opengovfoundation.org/the-madison-project/ allows citizens to be part of the law-making project
--Community Defense Guide - https://mijente.net/2017/02/10/community-defense-zone-guide/
--Action Network – https://actionnetwork.org tools for organizing one's own actions
--Campaign Zero – www.joincampaignzero.org ending police violence in America
--The Movement for Black Lives - https://policy.m4bl.org/
--How to Divest Your City from DAPL - https://docs.google.com/document/d/1DwAiUqLaqTXwl6qIn9fgmY2uHcELRvcCnHHvSaY2R4Y/edit
--Public Citizen - http://www.democracyisforpeople.org/page.cfm?id=21 tools for organizing to get money out of politics

​Weekly/Daily Actions
--Weekly Action Checklist for Americans of Conscience - https://jenniferhofmann.com/home/weekly-action-checklist-democrats-independents-republicans-conscience/
--Wall of Us - https://www.wallofus.org/
--The 65 - http://thesixtyfive.org/home
--Daily Action - https://dailyaction.org/
--5 Calls - https://5calls.org/
--Resistbot - text to contact Congres - https://resistbot.io/
--Injustice Boycott - https://injusticeboycott.com/

​Campaigning/Progressive Candidates
--Local Groups
--Oneida Democratic committee
--Code Blue - https://www.codeblue.team/

​Prep
--Knock Every Door - https://knockeverydoor.org/ voter contact and conversations
--It Starts Today - https://contribute.itstarts.today/2018 grassroots funding for Democratic candidates

​Local Offices (important to have blue by 2020 for redistricting/ending gerrymandering)
--Sister District – https://sisterdistrict.com state legislatures/governorships
--Flippable – https://www.flippable.org state legislature races
--The Resurgent Left -- https://www.theresurgentleft.org/ state legislatures and governorships
--Adopt-A-State -- https://adoptastate.org/ state legislature races // connecting residents from blue states to red state races

​Congress - eye on 2018
--Swing Left - https://swingleft.org/ Congressional swing district campaigns
--Brand New Congress - https://brandnewcongress.org/ progressive bipartisan congressional campaigns
--Justice Democrats - https://justicedemocrats.com/ progressive Democrat congressional campaigns
--Our Revolution - https://ourrevolution.com/ Sanders’ progressive organization

​Finding/Training Candidates
--Run for America - https://www.runfor.us/ bipartisan group encouraging and training candidates to "fix" the system from within
--Run for Something - https://www.runforsomething.net/ encouraging and supporting millennials running for local office
--She Should Run http://www.sheshouldrun.org/ and Emerge - http://www.emergeamerica.org/ encouraging women to run for office
--Emily’s List - http://www.emilyslist.org/ encouraging Democratic women to run for office

​Voting Rights & Anti-Corruption
--Fair Vote - http://www.fairvote.org/
--Represent Us - https://represent.us/about/
--Independent Voter Project - http://www.independentvoterproject.org/
--Other 98 - https://other98.com/

​Other Organizations
--Organizing for Action - https://www.ofa.us/
--Rise Stronger - https://www.risestronger.org/
--Political Action - https://peoplesaction.org/
--MoveOn – https://front.moveon.org/
--Stand Up America - http://act.standupamerica.com/page/s/sign-up

​Self & Others // Learning & Listening
--SURJ Thanksgiving Toolkit - https://docs.google.com/document/d/1bC0nyqFNx6VhBgNZDB0Oan1aa0i_UtuWeBLnOPWrJ5M/preview - good advice for talking to family members who might not see eye-to-eye with you

​Dealing with Autocracy and Anti-Fascism
--How to #StayOutraged Without Losing Your Mind - https://thecoffeelicious.com/how-to-stayoutraged-without-losing-your-mind-fc0c41aa68f3
--Autocracy: Rules for Survival - http://www.nybooks.com/daily/2016/11/10/trump-election-autocracy-rules-for-survival/
--5 Practical Principles to Guide Our Work Under Trump - https://www.thenation.com/article/5-practical-principles-to-guide-our-work-under-trump/
--20 Lessons from the 20th Century on How to Survive in Trump’s America - http://inthesetimes.com/article/19658/20-lessons-from-the-20th-century-on-how-to-survive-in-trumps-america
--I Was Trained for the Culture Wars in Home School, Awaiting Someone Like Mike Pence as a Messiah - https://www.autostraddle.com/i-was-trained-for-the-culture-wars-in-home-school-awaiting-someone-like-mike-pence-as-a-messiah-367057/
--Why I Left White Nationalism - https://www.nytimes.com/2016/11/26/opinion/sunday/why-i-left-white-nationalism.html
--Anti-Fascist Reading List - https://antifascistnews.net/2016/12/27/the-complete-anti-fascist-reading-list/
--Taking It Back - http://nielsenhayden.com/makinglight/archives/016547.html#more
--The Fallacies of Neoliberal Protest - http://www.aaihs.org/the-fallacies-of-neoliberal-protest/

​Anti-Racism, Decolonialism, Anti-Islamophobia, Anti-Xenophobia
--Inequality Media - https://www.inequalitymedia.org/videos/
--Free Online Essays and Books - https://docs.google.com/document/d/1ycQwS6LNr5S-ITb9uOKZiORd2KoaiYR_z6UXZtMVXgE/edit
--What To Do Instead of Calling the Police: A Guide, A Syllabus, A Conversation, A Process - https://docs.google.com/document/d/1_Y0LwX0uOz-P63FVhV0OFkDObbBXcy16YPOcsqnBqto/edit
--How to Easily be a White Ally to Marginalized Communities - https://medium.com/@keeltyc/how-to-easily-be-a-white-ally-to-marginalized-communities-fb0ff326e7ac
--Opportunities for White People in the Fight for Racial Justice - https://www.whiteaccomplices.org/
--Syllabus for White People to Educate Themselves - https://docs.google.com/document/d/1By9bUjJ78snEeZuLXNGBdlVMJgEQWMEjR-Gfx8ER7Iw/mobilebasic#heading=h.bi12zdslqy3z
--Curriculum for White Americans to Educate Themselves on Race and Racism–from Ferguson to Charleston - http://citizenshipandsocialjustice.com/2015/07/10/curriculum-for-white-americans-to-educate-themselves-on-race-and-racism/
--Charleston Syllabus - http://www.aaihs.org/resources/charlestonsyllabus/
--An Oral History of Three Days That Rocked America - https://www.wired.com/2016/11/black-lives-matter-social-media-witnesses-three-days-of-police-brutality/?mbid=nl_111616_p3&CNDID=38972136
--How to Support Standing Rock and Confront What It Means to Live on Stolen Land - http://www.truth-out.org/opinion/item/38041-how-to-support-standing-rock-and-confront-what-it-means-to-live-on-stolen-land
--History of the Surveillance of Muslims in the US - https://www.facebook.com/azmatzahra/posts/10107373929468053
--The Opposite of Rape Culture is Nurturance Culture - https://norasamaran.com/2016/02/11/the-opposite-of-rape-culture-is-nurturance-culture-2/
--Disability and Access toolkit - http://www.showingupforracialjustice.org/disability_access_toolkit

​Read works (fiction or otherwise) by authors from marginalized communities.
Some non-binary poets of color to start us off: Jamal Louis, Alok Vaid, Tyler Ford, Joshua Allen
​Three films - Three films that I've found particularly impactful/educational: Fed Up (about the food industry and politics), Inside Job (about the 2008 financial crisis and economic politics), 13th (about racial inequality in the prison system). These are areas where, in the words of Katie Couric, the fox was guarding the henhouse, even with a Democratic president. Now that phrase may apply to our whole federal government.

​Habits to Cultivate
Eat local & shop local
Refer to people with "they" pronoun
Practice listening

​Volunteering/Donating
--Mohawk Valley Resource Center for Refugees – https://mvrcr.org
--Planned Parenthood – https://plannedparenthood.org
--Feminist, LGBTQIA, Race/Gender Inclusive, Progressive Volunteer Opportunities and Organizations, State by State - https://docs.google.com/document/d/1-XTeGMAO0LTfjal5JdsnK9vzHJDOIhqV7CEOVS2r1k8/edit
--If You’re Overwhelmed by the Election, Here’s What You Can Do Now - http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/if-youre-overwhelmed-by-the-election-heres-what-you-can-do-now_us_5822c7d0e4b0e80b02cdf133
--A List of Pro-Women, Pro-Immigrant, Pro-Earth, Anti-Bigotry Organizations That Need Your Support - https://jezebel.com/a-list-of-pro-women-pro-immigrant-pro-earth-anti-big-1788752078